Often the biggest hurdle that victims of wage theft face is not knowing their rights on the job. Again, all workers in California are protected by State Labor Laws, including the following:
- Minimum Wage: $10/hr as of January 1, 2016.
- Prevailing Wage: (Rates depend on trade and location) for most government funded construction projects.
- Piece Rate: Workers paid “piece rate” (a rate for every square foot completed) are entitled to extra pay for rest breaks (10 minutes every four hours), as well as extra pay for overtime (if you work more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week). “Piece Rate” paychecks must also specify the amount of pieces that the worker has done and the rate per piece.
- Overtime: 1.5 times the rate of pay for all work time over 8 hours in a single day.
- Overtime: Double the rate of pay for all work time over 12 hours in a single day.
- Overtime: 1.5 times the rate of pay for the first 8 hours on the 7th consecutive workday.
- Overtime: Double the rate of pay for all work time over 8 hours on the 7th consecutive workday.
- Breaks: A 30 minute unpaid meal break for every 5 hours worked.
- Breaks: A 10 minute rest break for every four hours worked.
- No Retailiation: Your employer cannot punish or fire you for reporting a labor law violation or workplace safety hazard.
Click here to download a pocket guide outlining your rights on the job from the California State Labor Commissioner’s Office.